Former Falcons tight end Tony Gonzalez named Hall of Fame finalist

Champ Bailey, Ed Reed, Tony Gonzalez among finalists for Pro Football HOF

Bruce Named Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Finalist

Finalists must receive at least 80 percent of the votes from the Hall of Fame's 48-member selection committee to be inducted.

Alan Faneca (left) and Edgerrin James (right) were both selected as finalists for the Class of 2019 NFL Hall of Fame.

Lynch will face a tough road to earn election this year due to some competition at his position.

Now in his second year of eligibility, Hutchinson hopes to join recent Seahawks Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees Kenny Easley, who was elected into the Class of 2017, and Jones, a first-ballot selection in 2014, as well as previous Hall of Fame inductees Steve Largent and Cortez Kennedy.

Warren's debut trip to Iowa ignites voter passion
Warren's now infamous decision to release DNA test results which found "strong evidence" that she is somewhere between 1/64 and 1/1,024 Native American.

James was a four-time Pro Bowler and named an All-Pro in 1999, his rookie season. Inductions will be on August 3 at the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

Senior committee nominee Johnny Robinson and contributors finalists Gil Brandt and Pat Bowlen are also under consideration for induction into the HOF but are not part of the modern-era class. That ranks him seventh all-time in interceptions and first in interception return yards in National Football League history. He was honored as a member of the 2000's all-decade team, a bullet point that historically has carried significant weight with hall of fame voters.

His departure to the Jets for the 2005 season after he refused to restructure his contract was his first of two tenures there, playing also with Kansas City and Denver before retiring after the 2009 season. Considered one of the game's best cover cornerbacks, he had a career-high 10 interceptions in 2006. Law went into the Patriots Hall of Fame in 2014.

Lynch has plenty of competition among this year's finalists as there are four other defensive backs on the list: Steve Atwater, Ed Reed, Champ Bailey and Ty Law.

Latest News