Nintendo Switch Online launches on September 18th with 7-day free trial

Nintendo is rolling out its Switch Online service next week

Nintendo Direct Officially Announced for Tomorrow

Otherwise, the announcement has no other information regarding details for the Nintendo Switch's new paid online gameplay service, particularly availability worldwide. After maintenance, Nintendo Switch Online subscriptions can be purchased. We're sure to get more info on the service during tomorrow's Direct, so we'll see what else is in store for the soon-to-come update.

The start date for the online service was presumably going to be announced last week during the planned Nintendo Direct, but the presentation was cancelled following a major natural disaster in Japan.

Trump’s tariffs would make Apple gear more expensive
Earlier this year, the company said that as part of tax reform it would spend $350 billion in the USA over the next five years. It also has a sizable business in China, which the Chinese could target in retaliation for US trade actions.

North America's Direct kicks off at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET, while Europe's stream begins at 11 PM BST. Individual membership is separated into three tiers: $3.99 for one month; $7.99 for three months and $19.99 for 12 months. There's also a family membership option which costs $34.99 per year and allows up to 8 accounts to be connected. We might hear about more games during the Nintendo Direct on Thursday. There will also be cloud-based saves.

Nintendo, which delayed taking the wraps off the service (and a host of other Switch goodies) after postponing last week's Nintendo Direct event in the wake of a September 9 natural disaster, will likely explore the new service's features in greater detail at the rescheduled event, which kicks off Thursday at 6 p.m. ET.

Latest News